LIPS

This section is for all our talented ladies who wish to share their OOAK gifts with others.
vegirobin

LIPS

Post by vegirobin »

First I will start out by saying that I am not an expert. There are alot of ladies out there that sculpt fabulous lips! So, I am always trying to improve on what I do too.

This is a little ditty on how I do lips. It's not about noses, chins, cheeks, eyes.... nothing but the lips. It might seem a little creepy to see that the whole top of the head is missing but I hope you still get the idea.

I sculpted this in some old SS I had laying around (I usually use Prosculpt on my OOAKS).

I rolled a ball of clay so I had a working surface.

I put a rough nose on it just for orientation and pressed the indent where the mouth should be.

A little piece of clay for the upper lip.

Just under the nose.

Blend.... hey, he's happier already.

Press up with your finger to make the mouth fuller. Roll your finger along this ridge to create the roundness you want.

Something like this.

Make your little lip dent (philtrum?) and define the lip ridge with your tool.

It's hard to see in this picture... but I take the tool and pull it down the lip... like I am raking the surface of the lip from the top to the inside in a round motion.

A little clay for the bottom lip and maybe some of the chin.

I'm not really going to leave it this big! :)

I did a bit more of that "raking" on this lip (but exaggerated) so you could see what I meant.

Huge lip, huh? LOL.

I did some more smoothing on the sides.

The "Magic" of the rubber tool. This part is SO important. The bottom lip needs to taper in at the sides and be recessed more than the top lip. This will help you accomplish this.

Get the idea? Obviously, this lip/nose combo seems why out of proportion because there's no top to the head.

I wasn't intending on sculpting a whole baby head but I added this clay to the top so you'd get a better idea.