Anyone else feeling priced out of the market?

#1 Rule - Play Nice PLEASE!!
#2 Rule - This is not a forum for sales or wanted....please keep it to just general doll discussion.
Susan Cornelius

Anyone else feeling priced out of the market?

Post by Susan Cornelius »

I had started to read another thread on this, but at the moment I can't find it.
I've been collecting dolls for 20 years and I've spent anywhere from $200-$4,000 each for dolls over this period.
I feel like the prices keep going up and up and up - sky rocketing out of site. I mostly look on ebay.
I'm not undercutting peoples talent, or workmanship - and of course the way you earn money. I'm just saying that for me, I like to get a nice quality reborn for $600-$800, although I've paid as much as $1500. I'd like to get a nice silicone for no more than $3,000, although I paid $4,000 once.
When I look at dolls for sale these days and see that these two categories in particular have doubled and tripled what I am willing to pay - I wonder if my collecting days are over. I always think that the market will even out - because after all - is there a ton of people who can afford to spend these higher prices on dolls? Are there several who can afford to buy a toy for what a car would cost them?
Please don't be offended by my post - I'm all for free enterprise, I'm just wondering if for me, I need a new hobby. I simply can not justify spending for example 1500 on a reborn and selling it secondary market for $300.. And secondary market is NOT good folks.
Whats your OP? :?
Sandis Doll House

Re: Anyone else feeling priced out of the market?

Post by Sandis Doll House »

I know the prices have seriously slowed down my doll collecting. It's disheartening to think you can never recoup your money on a doll you pay big $$$ for.
Susan Cornelius

Post by Susan Cornelius »