Eyes plastic v.s. glass and mohair.

#1 Rule - Play Nice PLEASE!!
#2 Rule - This is not a forum for sales or wanted....please keep it to just general doll discussion.
cocoapuppy

Eyes plastic v.s. glass and mohair.

Post by cocoapuppy »

First, I'm not an artist. I'm having a custom made of an aurora sky. I'm debating on whether to get glass eyes or not and what mohair to get.

Is there a lot of difference in how the different the eyes make the doll look? Any suggestions for what "brown" eyes I should get for my doll will be greatly appreciated.

Also my favorite mohair color is "baby" brown. Any suggestions on that will also be so helpful.

I'm getting the custom made in a trade by a friend. She doesn't have glass eyes or high end mohair so I'm going to purchase it.

Thanks for all your help.

Ramona
TinyTimms_Doris

Re: Eyes plastic v.s. glass and mohair.

Post by TinyTimms_Doris »

I personally much prefer glass eyes. I think they look more realistic and that is what I use in all my dolls. There are several places you can get them but dolls by sandie is a great place. You can see the colors on her site. Mohair - I like Slumberland and Deltadawn but I am sure there are other choices out there too. Good luck and congrats on your new baby!!
Barbydoll

Post by Barbydoll »

I am only a collector & not a reborn artist.
But I like the realism of the glass eyes & I would get the best mohair that you can afford. It does make such a big difference in the softness & how well the mohair lays. If you are paying to have a custom made, I would go the few extra dollars to get the glass eyes & the better mohair. You won't be disppointed in the future. JMHO.
"Our 50th Wedding Anniversary Celebration"
Tiffeny

Post by Tiffeny »